Host: Local Government Management Agency (LGMA) 

Venue: No 6. Kildare Street, Dublin, Ireland


9:00-12:00 EBLIDA Executive Committee meeting preparing for the Council and Conference (by invitation only)
[Room: Dun Library]
12:00-13:00 Lunch and welcoming coffee/tea for all EBLIDA and NAPLE Members
13:00–16:30 Council Meeting EBLIDA (for EBLIDA Members only)
[Room: Winter Hall]

Reception for EBLIDA and NAPLE Members
[Room: Graves Hall]


9:00-12:00 NAPLE e-book Working Group
[Room: Winter Hall]
10:00-12:00 NAPLE Board Meeting
[Room: Stearne Room]
12:00-13:00 Lunch and welcoming coffee/tea for all EBLIDA and NAPLE Members
13:00-16:30 NAPLE General Assembly (for NAPLE Members only)
[Room: Dun Library]
16:30-17:30 Reception for EBLIDA and NAPLE Members
[Room: Graves Hall]

Conference Dinner

19:30 Location: Rustic Stone Restaurant, South Georges St., Dublin 2


Conference: "Libraries open for all"

08:30 – 09:30

Conference Registration

09:30 – 09:50

Official Opening and Introduction

Morning Session Chair: Anders Cato (NAPLE Chair)

Tom Enright (Chief Executive of Wexford County Council, Ireland)

Anders Cato (NAPLE Chair, Denmark) on behalf of NAPLE & EBLIDA

09:50 – 10:20

Keynote speech

10:20 – 10:35

Libraries, Politics and Policy

  • Marian Harkin (Member of the European Parliament)

10:35 – 10:45

Questions & Answers

10:45 – 11:00   

Coffee Break

11:00 – 12:50

Panel: Libraries open for All

Libraries open for all
Deirdre Maloney (Assistant Principal Officer, Libraries Development and Community Policy, Department of Rural and Community Development, Ireland)

Irish Libraries: Innovating for Inclusion
Cathal McCauley (University Librarian, Maynooth University, Ireland)

Digital first with a user focus. A competence boost for public library staff
Elisabet Rundqvist (National Library of Sweden, Stockholm, Sweden)

Libraries open for All gives a lot of possibilities
Marit Vestlie (National Library of Norway, Oslo, Norway)

12:50 – 13:00

Introduction to the Working Group Sessions

Afternoon Session Chair: Ton van Vlimmeren (EBLIDA President)

During the EBLIDA EC meeting (4 March 2019) the new 2019-2022 EBLIDA Strategic Plan was approved. EBLIDA Members are asked to reinforce / extend / modulate the Strategic Plan. Therefore, the Conference will split into 3 Working Group Sessions, each of them dealing with a Strand (see below).

Sessions will be introduced by a Speaker and moderated by the EBLIDA Member sponsoring the Strand. Participants will discuss on concepts, plans and experiences supporting each specific Strand.

At the end of the session the Chairs will report on the results of the three working sessions.

13:00 – 14:15


14:15 – 16:00

Working Group Session 1: Library legislation

Room: Dun Library

14:15 – 14:30 Speaker: Giuseppe Vitiello (Director, EBLIDA)
14:30 – 16:00 Working Group on the scope of library legislation
Chair: Jean-Marie Reding (Treasurer, EBLIDA, Luxembourg)

Working Group Session 2: Policy making for libraries

Room: Winter Hall

14:15 – 14:30 Speaker: Florianne-Marielle Job, Director (Cultural Center Puzzle, Thionville, France)
14:30 – 16:00 Working Group on qualitative indicators for libraries
Chair: Stefano Parise (Vice-President, EBLIDA, Italy)

Working Group Session 3: Library and their educational-social impact 

Room: Corrigan Hall

14:15 – 14:30 Educational/social impact of libraries - Martin Berendse (Director, Amsterdam Public Library, Netherlands)
14:30 – 16:00 Working group on open access for public libraries
Chair: Anders Söderbäck (Member, EBLIDA Executive Board, Sweden)

16:00 – 16:10

Plenary Session: Public Libraries 2030 – EBLIDA Cooperation

Ilona Kish (Director, Public Libraries 2030, Belgium)

16:10 – 16:55

Reports by the Working Groups Chairs

16:10-16.25: Working Group 1 - Jean-Marie Reding (Treasurer, EBLIDA, Luxembourg)
16:25-16:40: Working Group 2 - Stefano Parise (Vice-President, EBLIDA, Italy)
16:40-16:55: Working Group 3 - Anders Söderbäck (Member, EBLIDA Executive Board, Sweden)

16:55 – 17:15

Closing session - Conclusions of the day

Ton van Vlimmeren (President EBLIDA, Netherlands)

2019: EBLIDA Annual Council Meeting and EBLIDA-NAPLE Conference
Online user: 1